Public Commons

Water is our public commons across the world.

How we treat it and care for it impacts us all, in interconnected systems of breath, tides and transevaporation.

Museum of Water is very different in every country. The Museum is a process of learning. It is made new each time in collaboration with people who live there, who co-curate the programmes and who co-create the shape of the Museum as well as the exhibits inside.


Western Australia
2016-18 saw us travelling to the vast landscapes of Western Australia. We acknowledge the Noongar people who remain the spiritual and cultural birdiyangara of this kwobidak boodjar and the Menang people, the traditional owners of the lands we were standing on. We pay our respects and give thanks for sharing their knowledges with us.

Australia Custodians
Amy Sharrocks
Gabby Howlett
Irma Woods
Janet Carter
Jen Jamieson
Mei Swan Lim
Rebecca Orchard
Sandy MacKendrick
Sarah Nelson
Designer Zoe Atkinson
Lighting designer Martin Langthorne
Sound Designer Rachael Dease
Creative Producer Sarah Rowbottam
Perth Festival Director Wendy Martin


From 2014-16 the Museum was resident in The Netherlands with the Rotterdamse Schouwburg. We developed an extraordinary programme looking at the fear of water as well as the pleasures of water, tracing the movement of water through our bodies, through the urban management of water, out into water law and imagined future water worlds. Visit the Dutch Museum of Water Facebook page for more information on our work in The Netherlands.

Netherlands Custodians
Curators Sanneke van Hassel, Anouk Driessen & Amy Sharrocks
Alannah Pirrit
Bram Verhoeven
Eva Nobbe
Mark van de Koppel
Marel Jap Sam
Margje Ottevanger
Simone van Hulst
Lighting designer Martin Langthorne
Architect Dimitri Kruithov
Producer Jolien Sanderse
Theatre Rotterdamse Schouwburg Director Ellen Walraven


Between 2013-2016 Museum travelled across Britain, visiting over 30 different sites across the countries. The UK, Dutch and WA collections for Museum of Water are now complete.

UK Custodians
Alannah Pirrit
Amy Poole
Amy Sharrocks
Betty Chen
Elizabeth Howell
Ella Campbell
Emily Walsh
Kim Dennis
Mahalia Taylor
Mariam Turay
Mary Osborn
Rosa Farber
Rebeka Gasparics
Sam Hawes
Thomas Doherty
Designer Lucy Carruthers
Lighting designer Martin Langthorne
Artsadmin Producers Cat Harrison, Mark Godber and Skye Kunstelj
Director Judith Knight


Comments are closed.